The weakness of my commuter bike

I have had my commuter bike for close to 4 years now. I have ridden about 11.000 kms on it and I think I can safely say that I have come to know its design’s weak point. We’re talking about a 2013 Giant Rapid. It has the same alloy frame as the given year’s Giant Defys, so I think this applies to those bikes as well.
The weakness is its headset. It has Giant’s own OverDrive steerer, which means that both headset bearings are ‘oversized’. This adds better control and increased handling, but it has a drawback. The bottom bearing sits in its integrated housing in the frame itself, and the gap between the frame and the fork is about 2-3 millimeters. This doesn’t seem much or out-of-the-ordinary, but since the wheel is pretty close to this –about 2 cms–, it means all dirt from the road will fly to where this gap is. Unfortunately this means that no matter how well the bearing is greased, after about 2000 kms it gets really dirty. My bike starts to have constant clicking noises when this happens. There’s no other way around it but disassemble the headset, clean all parts with WD-40, apply a great amount of grease again and get back to riding. It can get a little bit worse if you ride the bike in rain — this itself can cause the clicking noise.
This is not actually a big deal. After doing it a couple of times, you can go over the whole thing in about half an hour. The bike’s awesome to ride, so this little price I’m OK to pay. It’s just something that needs to be shared.

Leave a Reply

